What am I not realizing?

Old 05-10-2010, 09:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What am I not realizing?

I am new to Al-Anon and posted my story on here just the other day. (So if you need to reference it to answer this.) I have only been to a handful of Al-Anon meetings, so I know that before I make any decision I need to attend at least 6 meetings. My husband attends AA and has been sober for almost 1 year. Prior to him I did have several relationships with alcoholics. As I sit in the meetings, though, I don't find myself feeling guilty, ashamed, afraid and I'm not a people pleaser. I was not put down with insults by my family or by any of the men in my life. In sitting in the meetings, some things I relate to, but a lot of it, I'm sitting there and thinking to myself, I can't identify with that, that never happened to me, I've never felt like that. However, I do know that I was the "beer police" when my husband was drinking, I did search through his items because I thought he was lieing to me (which he was a lot in the past, not now), when he was drinking I was very concerned about him. I also know that I must have some type of problem since I've continued to date men who are alcoholics, but I just can't seem to figure it out. Maybe I am approaching this wrong or maybe this is how some people are when they come into Al Anon.
Old 05-10-2010, 10:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I personally think that there are two types of codependents. There's the guilty people-pleaser type that you mentioned, and then there's the angry beer-police. I was the angry beer-police. What both types have in common is that they lose themselves and/or neglect themselves while focusing on someone else's problems. I had to figure out why it was so comfortable for me to focus on someone else's problems. I had a lot of my own issues that were easier to ignore when I could point the finger at someone else.