Should I stay or should I go?

Old 05-01-2010, 12:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Should I stay or should I go?

I have been with my bf for about 7 years now. He always liked to drink and experiment but I was blind to how bad it was. He got addicted to heroin for a year and during this time he lied to me, ignored me, and treated me like crap. How could I let someone treat me with such disrespect? I feel really stupid for staying with him and am just now realizing that I am codependent. But he decided to quit in late dec 2009, and I tried my best to support him. I have never dealt with addiction so I am very new to this. Since then he has relapsed a few times(probably more times than I know) and started drinking and taking pills instead of using heroin. And he can not honestly say that he will try to never do heroin again because he thinks that he can do it every now and then in the future.

We just broke up a few weeks ago but I can't seem to let him go even though it is probably what is best for me. I am constantly worrying and feel like I need to be there for him. I love him so much but he is not able to give me the love and attention that I need. He did agree to go to couples counseling with me but i'm pretty sure that he is not ready to make any big changes.

I don't have anyone to talk to who has been through anything like this and I feel really alone. If anybody has any advice or information for me it would be greatly appreciated. Should I give it my all or let it go? I keep thinking that if your in love, you should stick it out through these tough times. I'm so confused.
Old 05-01-2010, 12:34 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Persevere, Never give up!

Shame, i feel for you, but you have been doing it for 7 yrs nothings changed! if you are not married, get out, you need to take care of you and he needs to clean up his act. For us co dependants leaving is hard, but if we don't the people close to us will never get better!
Old 05-01-2010, 12:36 PM
  # 3 (permalink)