In need of something...

Old 10-02-2003, 11:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

In need of something...

This is my first time having any contact with Al-Anon. I am not sure what to think of it or what to expect from it, but I know I am in need of some sort of help or comfort or something.

In browsing through the posts of others I realized that my situation isn't as bad as others, of course I didn't find comfort in that. It made me profoundly sad. Sad for two reasons. The first being that there are so many of us out there being hurt on a daily basis, and secondly I fear that things could be worsen. Maybe that is a bad attitude and certainly I tend to be pessimistic, but sometimes I feel justified in my doubts. Of course reading the posts where people call alcoholic liars doesn't make me feel any better.

Here is the deal with me. My husband is an alcoholic. He is I guess what you call a binge drinker. Currently he has quit drinking. He has quit before for about 7-9 months, I don't remember.