Day 1 to this community

Old 04-05-2010, 10:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 1 to this community

The truth is that I'v been needing something like this for a while. I mean, who do you share with about your life with an addict husband without them building judgement against him, or you? I thank God I ran into this group today. I renew my faith daily about my situaion, but today was especially tough. I read a lot of postings in this site and felt instantly connected. I know I will find some support here along with future al-anon meetings in my area I will start attending. Today is the first day I seek for support in the 5-year ride with an alcoholic. (I am new to chatting/posting/forums, so I apologize if my lingo is incorrect at times.) :o

I'm sorry for rambling on........let me introduce myself. I am the wife of a recovering addict (crystal meth and alcohol). We are in our early 30's and have 2 kids (11yr-daughter and 13yr-son). He was on crystal meth for 2 years and has been drinking for 5 years. Today marks 111 days of sobriety from meth and day 9 for alcohol (for both of us). I'm a true social drinker and so would join him 4-8 times per month depending on situations. (I never tried or been on meth)

Now on day 9 - It seems like the past 3 days have been the hardest emotionally for him, therefore, very hard for me. He seems very mad and angry. He doesn't take it out on the kids, only me. I'm trying not to take it personally-but I feel I'm growing resentful. I don't know what to expect from this recovery. Can someone give me an clue? Thanks for listening, this felt good.
Old 04-05-2010, 12:38 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I cant help you with what to expect - My AH only made it ten days, and then ended up at bar. But I will happily welcome you here! I have been here for 3 days and in 3 days have never been so greatful!
Old 04-05-2010, 12:45 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Go ask the Multivax