What are my boundaries?

Old 03-12-2010, 09:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What are my boundaries?

Hi,

I'm new to the SR Community, but I'm hoping I can find help and support here. I am the girlfriend of an alcoholic, and I want to know what are my boundaries when it comes to my boyfriend's recovery. He has been an alcoholic for many years, and he has experienced periods of sobriety. His latest sober period was May or June 2009 to October 2009.

Recently he's been slipping back into his old habits, and I just don't know how much more I can take. He is really down and out because he can't find a job, so every now and then he asks me for money (although I really don't have a lot to spare). Sometimes it is for things like toothpaste, toilet paper, etc., but other times I can hear the slurred speech, and I know he wants it for alcohol. When I call him on it, he gets really angry. For example, yesterday he called me and asked for money to buy some toiletries (but he didn't sound like he had been drinking), so I went to the ATM and got some money for him. However, when I dropped off the money, he smelled of alcohol. On top of it, he tried to "get romantic," which completely turned me off and my unwillingness to give in made him angry. I blatantly asked him if he had been drinking, and he gave me some line about "I'm not perfect," and "Ain't nothing changed." When we talked later on, he informed me that he was angry because I had called him out on his drinking, and then told me never to do that to an alcoholic because it causes resentment.

What am I supposed to do? I'm fed up. I've remained silent about his addiction for a good portion of our relationship (we've been together 4 years). When he's been drinking, he tries to divert my attention away from it, but recently I have been calling him out on it more and more because I'm tired of acting like nothing is wrong just to keep him happy. Is it a bad idea to hold him accountable for his actions?
Old 03-12-2010, 09:59 AM