Can't sleep...venting

Old 09-23-2003, 04:24 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can't sleep...venting

3:30 am here and I can't get back to sleep. This is my first time posting here. I have been in al-anon since Feb. but I have not really "worked it". I am pretty much terrified of speaking in the group situation, I always have been, though you wouldn't think it if you talked to me one-on-one. Anyway, this has hindered me because I have really not connected with anybody and it's all I can do to just get myself to go to the meetings. But I know I need to. I married my husband knowing he was an alcoholic, of course I thought from day one with him that I could change and/or control the situation, although it took me years to realize I even thought this. I was so oblivious to how bad it was getting. Ten years into the marriage I realized his disease had progressed to the point where he was keeping himself drunk 24/7, albeit VERY secretly. I knew he drank, just not how much and when. The drinking I saw him do seemed in control to me.(Duh). Anyway, to make a long story somehat short, by last summer it was very bad and I told him I was going to leave with the kids if he didn't get into treatment. Now I know it was a threat to try to control him of course. Looking back, it's no wonder it wasnt successful because he wasn't doing it for himself, but he did go into a 28 day program and for awhile I thought it would get better. By January he had relapsed and I kicked him out for two days. He managed to call his sponsor and nip it in the bud right away it seemed, so he moved back in right away, going to meetings several times a day and staying in close touch with his sponsor. Which lasted about a week. Again, things gradually went downhill and although I didn't think he was drinking, his behavior was still "dry drunk" . I knew the first year after treatment was going to be hard, so I figured this and the relapse were "normal" things to be expected and just tried to be supportive and deal wi