Any happy relationship stories out there?

Old 12-17-2009, 01:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Any happy relationship stories out there?

Does anyone have any 'happy endings' so to speak, where your alcoholic partner has sought help and got through it, and your relationship survived?

I am a newbie here and have only been with my alcoholic boyf for 6 months. He is currently in a day program and his drinking has cut down but he is supposed to be totally abstinent on the program. He is probably drinking about 3 or 4 days a week now, but not getting completely off his head like he was before. He has become quite grumpy and withdrawn but he says that is because he is going through a lot of changes and talking about difficult subjects at the moment. He has mental health issues and depression and is trying to work out if he is truly just an alcoholic or if he self-medicates for depression.

I have been reading lots of info about alcoholism, codependency etc and read loads of forum posts on SR, but I haven't found many happy stories of alcoholics recovering and the relationship surviving. I truly want my relationship to work and don't want to give up on it just yet, but I can't help but think it just isn't going to work after reading a lot of these posts. There must be some happy stories?
Old 12-17-2009, 01:57 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

My late ex mother-in-law gave my ex father-in-law an ultimatum regarding his drinking. He stopped and although he didn't use a program, he never drank again. Their marriage seemed happy to me.

I gave the same ultimatum to my exah in fall of '08 after I 'hit the wall' and couldn't stand his drinking anymore. He moved out in order to continue drinking and we divorced a few months later.

Although al-anon is opposed to ultimatums, they let you know where you stand.
Old 12-17-2009, 02:21 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Living in a Pinkful Place

((Iwantcontrol))

There are "Happy Endings"