Wishing I could cut ties

Old 11-20-2009, 07:03 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wishing I could cut ties

I've been coming here off and on for the past five years, as I and my family have been dealing with the constant rollercoaster of my brother's chronic alcoholism. He's 53 years old, been in in-patient treatment four times, with his longest period of sobriety being 3 1/2 years after his second stint in treatment. He relapsed last fall, did a 30-day treatment, got out and was drinking again in less than a week. We (my mother, sister and me) stepped back from him at that time, as we didn't feel there was anything more we could do for him.

On Easter Sunday this year, my mom (age 83) and I were in a restaurant when we were approached by someone who had been trying to help my brother get back into recovery. He said brother was in a very bad state -- had been in and out of detox again and again -- and that if something weren't done he wouldn't live long. At that point we felt we had to step in again.

We got him into a three-month in-patient treatment program (local; I would have preferred far away). We cleaned out his apartment, stored his stuff, cleaned up his mess. Meanwhile, he thrives in the treatment environment -- no worries, he's taken care of, he gets a lot of attention.

After his release from that program, he moved into a sober house, where we hoped he'd stay for a long time because he has shown he does NOT do well living on his own. But a month after moving in, he left the place and got an apartment - said the place was too noisy for him to be able to study (he'd gone back to school to become a counselor). He told us another guy would be moving in at the end of the month as his roommate.