New, hello.

Old 10-12-2009, 10:15 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New, hello.

Hi, this is my first time I'm on this board. I have read some of the threads and it seems like there is wonderful support on here.

A bit about me. I am 30 and my AB (alcoholic boyfriend) is also 30. We have a 5 month old daughter. I realized his binge drinking was out of control when I was pregnant - he would often go out all night and leave me home alone. I attended Al-Anon a few times, but I was very sick from my pregnancy so could not go much. When our daughter was born, he cut back very significantly, but it was still a lot. I hate him a lot of times for putting me through this. However, I should add he is a wonderful father, I will give him that.

10 days ago I gave him two choices: (a) leave right then (I own the house and $ is not an issue for me fortunately) or (b) he could stay in the home temporarily as he gets help and goes to AA, but he also has to save $ to move out in three months. I own the home myself. At that point I could not have cared less if he chose (a). However, he chose (b) and has been sober for the past 10 days. He says he is "done" and his goal is to show me that he is done drinking, in hopes I will let him stay in the home. I am far some sure I will let him stay even if he does remain sober! He seems to be doing so great and is confident in his ability to stay sober, yet I am very skeptical. He readily admits he is an alcoholic, but seems to think its as simple as he has just quit and is never drinking again. I think he is too confident, even reminded him last night of the importance of the AA meetings, that he can't think he can do it alone.