I am a partner of an alcoholic

Old 09-04-2003, 03:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

I am a partner of an alcoholic

Hello everybody,

I have been riding a roller coaster ride with my partner for 2 and 1/2 years my partner is clean now for 11 days now she's having the erge everyday to drink because of the withdrawls she's having really bad ones. I'm afraid she will drink again this is not the first time she has tryed to stop drinking I really hope that this time she will do it for real but I'm not holding my breath because I know the chances are 50/50. I really hope she has the will power this time I'd really like to get on with our life and stop fighting about this issue daily but I know that this is not about me but about her and her alcoholism. I really am trying to be there in support or for her to lean on any time but it's hard because I don't want to get my hopes up to be crushed again.

We are an alternative relationship and that is hard as it is I hope that this forum is a open minded one and won't shut me out . Please if you know of any other places that would be better for me let me know.
:cries2:
Old 09-04-2003, 03:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Kimberly, I'm so sorry to hear about your friend. It seems to me she may need to be in rehab or something, with her withdrawls and bad one's at that. I'd advise you should call AA or the hospital where you are and ask for advice, get professional help, it sure can't hurt to ask.

I hope the best for both of you, hey she's going in the right direction wanting to stop, that's great.

Luv and hugs......Just Me.....Denise
Old 09-04-2003, 05:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Kimberly