New to SR - Find myself Lost and Sad

Old 07-21-2009, 10:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy New to SR - Find myself Lost and Sad

I am new to SR. I have been reading a lot on SR for the past few months and felt it was time to tell my story and reach out for any help I can get.

My husband is an addict which still pains me to say. His DOC was/is Oxy’s. I am still unclear how it all started. He was prescribed Percocet for back pain and had surgery back in Feb 2008. His addiction started I think a few months prior. Our xneighbor would do oxy “recreationally” with my husband and show him different ways to use. I had no idea until April of 2008 when he got caught stealing from his work after hours by the police when he was suppose to be playing cards. Thankfully the union was able to get him to detox and then a halfway house for 6 months. I thought my whole world had come to a crashing end. I was left behind with our two small children (4&5 at the time), no money left in any accounts (even the kids money was gone). No bills had been paid, house was going into foreclosure, and my car had been reposed a few weeks prior.

I had been so dependent on my husband I didn’t know what to do. With the support of my family and his family I somehow made it through and got everything on track. I even found my independent self that had been lost for so many years. He came home just before Thanksgiving and I thought everything was going great – and it was at first. Well in April my AH got laid off and struggled with depression. Well needless to say he relapsed for a two week bend (so he says).