first time

Old 05-30-2009, 09:08 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

first time

so, this is my first time here...trying to take a suggestion from the husband (sober for 8 months now) and his mom (sober for 20 years)...they try to help. i have a phenomenal way of not dealing with things...truthfully i like it that way...i never want to feel the way i did when he drank again..whether it's to deal with it or not...i feel like everyone has to hit bottom, the spouses of alcoholics just as much as the alcoholic themselves...there comes a point when you just can't take it anymore and you can't justify it anymore, and you can't help (which for me was more enabling than helping) anymore..mine was last summer...about this time...we had one of the fights i'll never forget..it truly was a turning point for me...he threatened to take our kids away from me...and in that moment i knew i was done...i knew that this was not love, this was not healthy, and this person i had become, vunerable, shaky, insecure and angry was not me...shortly after he moved out...then he drank more...he'd come to the house every night, fall out of his truck because he couldn't stand up and call me every name in the book...after many agonizing days and sleepless nights i made the decision to let him come home...(not real sure what the motivation was really..habit maybe...habit of giving in to him and his needs versus my own)..the night he was supposed to come home he decided to drink...for the last time...meanwhile i was at home, trying to make his homecoming perfect...when he came home he was drunk...i wouldn't let him in...in that moment he hit his bottom...finally...after 10 years of begging, pleading, fighting, threatening, and crying, he saw me...he saw what i had become...and he felt responsible...8 months later, he is still home and he is sober...he thinks i have residual anger issues with his drinking that i need to deal with (which i might) but i think what he fails to see is that in a very strange way, i