Mental Illness and the Chicken or the Egg

Old 05-22-2009, 08:30 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Mental Illness and the Chicken or the Egg

I truly believed that my husband was suffering from a personality disorder. I think he uses alcohol to mask how uncomfortable his mental illness makes him feel. He has strong family genetics tying him to bipolar, borderline, etc. My daughter who is most genetically like his side of the family is off the charts ODD, OCD and ADD. We talked for years about his OCD and ADD but he said, "I won't take the medicine, so why go to the doctor?" HUH? WELLLLL, what if they put it in liquid form over ice?

So I started studying and found there is a ton of medical information that says that a great proportion of mental illness sufferers are also alcoholics. So this comorbid situation is a vicious cycle.....UNLESS the mental illness is under control.

So, My R?AH was actually pretty logical while actively drinking. Selfish, self centered, verbally abusive, but logical. Now that he is dry drunking and faking through the program his behavior is illogical, bizarro, and bordering on insane. He does not track logic, math, reason. He swings all over the map. Reasonable one moment, irate the next.

We have discussed recovery brain....but I wonder if this isn't just the mental health issue, unshadowed by alcohol and unmasked by sobriety. So here is the rub, FREYA get ready, I am about to question AA's policies.....
Why is AA (and I realize it might just be HIS chapter but the big book clearly questions it) so against psychiatric drugs?

And what have you all experienced with mental illness. And finally, the chicken and the egg...the folks in his family that have mental illness diagnosis have never had a drop of alcohol....but I wonder if his alcohol didn't cause the mental illness since he is the only male with this issue?