I'm New to This

Old 03-30-2009, 10:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm New to This

I’m so happy to have found this forum. I’ve been with my ABF for 10 years (living together for 9 years). I didn’t really notice that he had a drinking problem until about 4 years ago. He had to go into a medical detox at that point because it had become so bad. After that, there were a few incidents here and there, but things have gotten much worse since last summer. He doesn’t drink every day, but will go on these drinking binges every couple of months that last several days. One of the last drinking incidents led to having our apartment broken into and completely ransacked and several of our personal belongings stolen. This was in December. I wasn’t home at the time (I was visiting family in another state), and I really thought that this was his rock bottom. That was the first time he admitted he has a problem and that he wanted to do something about it. Of course, as the days and weeks passed, he took no action to help himself. This past weekend, he went on another binge, and I know he is passed out at home drunk right now. I’ve made the decision today to get help for myself. I’m on the verge of tears right now (at work) and my heart cannot physically handle the stress any more. The anxiety that I feel from his drinking is so overwhelming, I really feel like it has take years off of my life. I’m only 31, and I never thought I would be in a situation like this. I’ve learned that alcoholism can and does affect people from all walks of life. I’ve decided to go to my first al-anon meeting tomorrow, and I will also seek counseling/therapy for myself. I have felt so alone in this personal battle, and am so thankful to have found this forum.
Old 03-30-2009, 10:50 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, and I'm glad you found us too! Here you will find a lot of information on the disease of alcoholism, and a whole lot of caring people too!