Relationship Help

Old 03-15-2009, 03:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Relationship Help

This is my first time posting, so I'll give a little bit of background about myself.

I have never really been a fan of drinking. I find it really attractive when a guy is skilled or passionate about something and sticks to it. Conversely, if a guy is acting like a moron or laughing at stupid things, I don't find it very attractive. Drinking seems to encourage the latter, so I've never really had the urge to drink, and I'm a bit turned off when other people do.

When I was 16, my father started abusing alcohol. He used to have a couple glasses of wine at night, as his italian heritage would demand of him, and that never bothered me. But when he lost his job, and his marriage was struggling with my mother, he turned to drinking. Heavily. He would get drunk and insult me, call me a *****. A straight "A" student with the same boyfriend for a year and spends most of her time at an arcade, being a dork. I was all of a sudden the worst daughter in existence.

He would threaten to hit me, but thankfully never did. He went through all the symptoms of cirrhosis of the liver (although I didn't recognize it as such at the time), and eventually died from the disease when I was 18, a few months before I graduated high school.

To keep this post as short as possible, it really has taken a toll on my emotional stability. After being insulted by him, threatened by him, sitting in the passenger's seat while he drove drove drunk, and many other things I would rather not get into, I feel I'm scarred.

My boyfriend does not drink often. He says he only drinks at his friends' weddings, and occasionally when he sees friends he hasn't seen in awhile. I have a really really strong emotional reaction to this idea. It hasn't even happened yet, but the idea of him drinking or getting drunk sends me into hysterics.