How did we help create this mess?

Old 03-10-2009, 08:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How did we help create this mess?

I am thinking about today's One Day at a Time -

Today's Reminder: It is not the alcoholic who is my responsibility. My Job is to do something about my own faults, my own part in the mess our life has become. Can I admit that my own irrational behavior helped to create the mess? I am sure I will realize it in time, with the help of Al-Anon.

I know I have tons of faults of my own, I am having a hard figuring out how I contributed to the mess - Maybe in the early days I should have put my foot down or left.

I have a lot of anxiety and depression and it's sort of a chicken and egg thing - which came first? I am sure my anxiety/depression contributed to his drinking, but so did his drinking to my anxiety/depression. How do I put an end to the vicious cycle?

Anyway, I'm new to al-anon. I so want to get it. I read and hear all the time that the only one I can change is myself - I just need to figure out what my problem is. I honestly don't know how to examine myself.

I'd love to hear how you actually took charge and figured out what to fix in your life.
Old 03-10-2009, 08:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Read the Codependency section- it opened my eyes to a lot of behaviors I have that contribute to these situations (by allowing me to get into them in the first place).

Setting clear boundaries for myself in regard to what my core values in any relationship mean to me, and take steps to follow through with them. The boundary sections really highlight this: When "X" happens it is unacceptable to me, if "X" happens again I will "X". Most of my boundaries end with me leaving.