Weekend Binge

Old 08-05-2003, 07:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Weekend Binge

Hi

I am NEW to this. Have been dating a good guy, gentle, loving for 23 months. For the past 4-5 months, it seems every Friday after work he gets antsy and he must have a drink. Not just one. Usually at least 6 beer. And chain smokes. And a joint.

This is not the person I knew when we first started dating. It seems nothing else matters except getting his "fix". I don't think I can live with this as I have a 10 year old son.

I guess I am naive, that I did not see the signs earlier, but this stuff is new to me. Why do they do it??? HELP, sometimes there is little consolation for the pain with knowledge...

passagewest
Old 08-05-2003, 08:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Passagewest

Welcome to the best recovery site this side of codependency. You will find wonderful people here who have been where you are and who are supportive and loving. You are no longer alone.

Take a read around, read the powerposts at the top of the Al-Anon and Nar-Anon boards and just make yourself comfortable.

I think it is wise that you are taking a serious look at your relationship and considering the impact on your son. Sadly, there is nothing you can do to change the drinker, but there are many things you can do to help yourself get balanced again and heal from the shock.

If you haven't already been to an Al-Anon meeting, I suggest you give yourself the best gift ever and go. There you will find live support and people who can guide you through working the 12-step program which is a terrific plan that will help you with all things in your life.

Others will be along to welcome you also, so just keep reading and feel free to post as often as you like. We care.

Hugs
Ann
Old 08-05-2003, 08:35 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello Passagewest, and welcome!