Step One questions.....I am confused

Old 01-22-2009, 09:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Step One questions.....I am confused

OK, I am VERY new to this, so if I am misinterpreting anything or missing something, please be patient with me

I have been reading the posts about "working the steps", and I am attempting to do so

First question -

So, I read step one - I am powerless over alcohol

Well, for the first 41 years of my life, alcohol was NOT an issue. I drank to the point of being drunk ONCE in my life, and I was 21 and celebrating my college graduation. I have worked in restaurants, and in the gaming industry, and was exposed to responsible alcohol consumption at both. My friends, my family, my old relationships....alcohol was never an issue. It was quite often a take it or leave it thing - I had a fully stocked bar in my home, you could mix about any drink up, but bottles often lasted years.....it was just there, no big deal. I enjoyed going to wineries, took classes about wine, took a trip to Napa. But, when I fell in love with a wine and ordered a case....it lasted over 5 years. I had dreams or retiring to the Napa Valley someday....