I took the first step and am being attacked by AD

Old 12-18-2008, 11:12 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I took the first step and am being attacked by AD

I finally took the first step to getting out of my marriage--but I did not go about it the right way.
I opened my own accounts and had my work check moved from our joint account to my new account. Today was the first paycheck that did not go into the account. I told AH I was doing this 2 weeks ago. He had written a check for our son's daycare and it got overdraft charges because there is no money in the account. He has consistently done this--writes checks when there is no money in the account. He thinks that if other checks have not cleared yet that there is still money there. . .thus digging us into an even deeper hole.
I have not posted lately--too overwhelmed. AH quit his job making 60K 3 years ago and is not employed making about a quarter of that but will not look for employment because he "is a musician"--not being an artist I guess I don't understand that there is a difference between being a musician and working as a musician (and not making any money because he won't do any other work).
I want to get a divorce but do not have the money for the retainer and don't have any way to get it but to save--which is why I opened my own account. As long as he has access to my paycheck I will never save a dime.