What do I do?

Old 11-27-2008, 01:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What do I do?

I'm an elementary school teacher and I also serve as a board member and coach for one of the local youth sports leagues. Two years ago, one of my students started hanging out with me at the games and we ended up getting fairly close. His parents were divorced and he refused to have contact with his father. It turns out his father had a drug (cocaine) problem.

About a year ago, the boy's father passed away and I have become even closer to him and his younger brother since then. I would consider myself a close friend of the family. A few months ago, I learned that the mother was a recovering alcoholic. The oldest boy, now 13, told me about some of his experiences with her alcoholism and it sounds just horrific. She has been sober for about 4 years.

Last Sunday, the kids were all out at friends' houses and apparently the mom went out which she never does. She must have hooked up with some man and they have been meeting each morning and every night since then. I learned about this last night when I went over to visit and the kids were home alone.

When their mom came home, the younger boy could smell alcohol on her. I heard him slam a door and when I went downstairs to see what was wrong, he was crying and saying that he was very scared. He told the older boy who apparently remembers the earlier experiences a lot better and this kid just lost it. He stormed into his mother's room screaming and was met with something to the effect of "get out of my face". He then went in to his room and completely broke down like i had never seen... reduced to a sobbing, trembling mess.