Old 10-07-2008, 09:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello, I am new to this group. Just joined this morning.

Just thought I would say hi and say that I am very grateful to have found this forum.

I am fairly new to Alanon - and I have attended a few meetings, but I live in a very tiny town in a rural area and there are very few meetings. Only one during the week at a town about 10 miles away - and the couple of other meetings are in the evenings 7 and 10 miles away from where I live.

Now that fall/winter is approaching, I will probably not be able to attend meetings very often as we get heavy rain/wind - and black ice and snow eventually - and I am not comfortable driving in those conditions. (Tree limbs falling, etc.)

Question:
I know I need to have/find a sponsor - at one of my meetings. Any advice on how to decide on who to ask - and how do I ask? I feel awkward asking for a sponsor - but I keep hearing people speak about their sponsors. I am suffering from so much anxiety and depression because ANOTHER family member has "crossed over" from being a (social drinker) - (drink to relax drinker) to alcoholism. Having BIG personality changes when drinking, anger, always needing a drink at dinner, etc. AND being very angry, sarcastic, etc. when she has not had a drink...........

(My grandfather/father/ex-husband/oldest son were/are alcoholics). Now I have a sibling - one who I used to feel so close to - who is having big time drinking problems. I almost feel like this person has died! I don't even want to be around this person but I feel so guilty avoiding this family member.

I will be using this group/forum as a back-up for the days and nights when I can't get out to a meeting. Again, I am SO glad to have found this website.

Sorry for the long post and thanks for any suggestions.

DL
Old 10-07-2008, 09:24 AM
  # 2 (permalink)