Over 50 and overwhelmed with my life.

Old 05-16-2008, 09:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Over 50 and overwhelmed with my life.

I have been putting up with a toxic relationship for many years. My SO is an alcoholic and smokes pot sometimes as well.
He also has had problems with a form of crack in the past. He has OCD and has been on medication for it for ten years now.
I tend to think he uses his diagnosis of OCD too often as an excuse for his miserable record in keeping his abstinance. I wouldn't
even mind that much
if he wanted to have a drink and joint once or twice per month but it's all or nothing with him. He drinks as soon as he gets a hold of
any sums of money. The next day he sleeps all day long and I hate that too. He is useless around here.
I seriously want this loser out of my life. We have no intimancy either but that is no longer important to me.
I am feeling depressed, angry and frustrated with the impact this
behavior has on my life. I think most people think I am ******** for having put up for so long. I know that I don't care what
people think but that I need a game plan to get out of this. He also chain smokes, enough said.

I am broke but I know I can rally to still get myself out of this situation that has gone on for years. I was out of it once and was
foolish to think this moron could change after he was in a rehab for a whole year. I haven't even mention all the troubles his debauchery
has caused. The lying, stealing, not paying bills or buying food because alcohol, cigarettes and pot has to be bought instead over and
over again. The arrests he has had, the lack of general support in my life in every way. The guy lives like a guest here. He is a generaly nice
and talented fellow
but he has ruined his mind and no doubt his body from years of abuse. His family and all his friends are no longer talking to him.
He is in some out patient rehab that is only once per week