New here and in crisis!

Old 03-29-2008, 09:08 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here and in crisis!

Hi all, this is my first post here. I'm completely new to all of this so I could really use some guidance. I'll try to make this brief......

My dad's an alcoholic. Has been for years. Functional though, still goes to work, just drinks himself stupid every afternoon when he gets home, till he eventually passes out. Hasnt gone more than 1-2 days without a drink in several years.

It's been taking a toll on my family. I'm 26 and the oldest, have 3 younger brothers-24, 20, and 17. Only the youngest and my mom still live at home with my dad. Lately it's just gotten out of hand. He acts like a jerk when he's drunk, and we can't take it anymore.

None of us kids have ever talked to him about his drinking. My mom has, but never got through to him. So today we had an "intervention." He listened to us talk, got annoyed, and said fine, he'll stop drinking if that's what we want. We said that we want him to get help because it won't be easy, and withdrawal can be dangerous. He adamently refused. Said he can do it on his own, no problem. We kept insisting, and my mom and brother said they'd leave and come live with me if he refused to get help. He said do what you have to do, he's not going anywhere.

So, they left him. They came to stay with me today. My dad said we are blowing it out of proportion and it's not that bad. He said he'll prove us all wrong and show us he can do it on his own. Maybe he can, but I doubt it. So now he's all alone and we have no idea if he's ok. Our counselor says that we had to give an ultimatum and stick to it, which we did, but I feel so awful. I can't decide if I did the right thing.