SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   feeling uneasy (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/14628-feeling-uneasy.html)

Rose56 06-25-2003 02:44 PM

feeling uneasy

I am feeling so uneasy today. Whenever I make a large purchase I get this sick feeling in my stomach. I get afraid that I made a big mistake and that my world will come crashing down. I know this is not true, but that is the way I respond and today is one of those days.

Our van broke down last week and needs a new motor and we will not be repairing it because of the mileage. I have been researching what new car to buy for at least six months now and decided on one. I did a lot of research on the best way to buy the car and yesterday I did buy one. I got a really good price, a good interest rate on teh loan with reasonable monthly payments. So why do I feel so sick? I have such a tremendous need to be right, like if I am wrong the world will crumble. I want to purge this pattern from my life but it remains.

There is also this deep message that says that I should suffer and get by with as little as possible to prove how good and strong I am. Crazy I know, but it is one of my basic beliefs that is hard to put aside after all these years.

Please say a prayer for me, that I can calm my stomach and give myself a break. Thanks for listening.

JT 06-25-2003 03:08 PM

Rose,