update on me!

Old 06-21-2003, 05:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

update on me!

Hi everyone,
I thought it was just my computer having problems, but am relieved to see it's not! Well, thought I'd give you an update that is actually a happy one

A couple of weeks ago, as you all know, my ah took a nose dive, missed 2 days of work and spent one day drinking himself into another world and had the nerve to show up at my work drunker then a skunk...I was FURIOUS...I am a teacher and we have some rules in place for kids protection (ie: getting a visitors pass and he knows that) anyhow, the next morning, I set some very strict boundaries and told him that if he was going to continue on this path, that's fine, but it'd be minus me in his life. His boss has been very accommodating to him as he's diagnosed as suffering with depression, which when he's on his meds he's fine, but when he's not, he isn't and then drinks and misses work. His boss told him to get his act together and that if he misses another day of work, he's done. So, he started taking his meds again and had enough to last him 2 weeks and he called the dr. all on his own (which is HUGE for him..he usually begs me to call or go with him) and went on his own and got his prescription refilled. He hasn't missed a dose yet and I swear, my husband is turning into a different man!! He who hates family things, has actually gone to a birthday party today and he's spending tons of time with our 4 year old...coloring, playing ball...you name it. And our son is loving every moment of it! He's even commented that he feels better then he has in a long time...amazing isn't it?? and you know what?? Not a drop of alcohol has been consumed and he has said..he has no desires to even drink at all!! WOW! I know he knows the possible side effects so that could be playing into but guess what?? I am not even worried about it...I am ENJOYING EVERY moment of my husband being back to the man I feel in love with!! The best part?? Our 7 year ann