Getting Busy Living is Great Fun

Old 09-10-2007, 04:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Wipe your paws elsewhere!

Getting Busy Living is Great Fun

I thought I'd join my pal ICU, who seems like she's been having great fun lately, and get busy living myself. I must say, I highly recommend it. It's infinately more enjoyable than wallowing around in misery with folks who resemble the living dead.

Over the past few months, I've been focusing on taking better care of myself and treating me the way I tend to treat others. So, these days, I Dream of Jilly has been left out of her magic lantern, and my every wish is my command.

I started out by taking better care of myself. I began by focusing on nurishing my body properly. I had been abusing myself with food for several years and it showed. I don't count calories or consider myself on a diet, I just make healthier choices. The end result: I've shed 30 pounds.

So, to show off my healthier, slimmer figure, I splurged on a whole new wardrobe. And instead of choosing similar styles to what I typically pick, I focused only on items that I would never try on in the past. I didn't want to sport a similar look with similar clothes just in smaller sizes. I wanted a whole new look because I feel like a whole new me.

Then I went to my hair dresser and told her she could do anything she wanted with my hair, but there was one stipulation, I wanted to look hot. REALLY HOT. And she delivered! The men at work went crazy over my new "do," even men who had never spoken to me before (and I've worked at the same place 10 years) stopped me in the halls to tell me they loved my hair. Last week, two gentlemen walked by my office, stopped and walked by a second time. I haven't had a double-take in years. I actually started thinking "yeah, I've still got it." That's a far cry from feeling, overweight, old, and ugly. How fun is that?