concerned about husband

Old 05-19-2003, 03:45 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
PattyJo

concerned about husband

Hello, I'm new to this. I posted on the newcomers board and they told me to come here. My husband and I have been together for nine years, during which he has been in and out of our home many times. Currently he is not here. I am having a very hard time with it. All of the things I hear about what he is doing and where his has been drives me crazy and just tears my heart out. I don't doubt that I can make it without him, it's just that I love this man and no one seems to understand that. He has done AA every time he leaves but I don't think he has ever been really devoted to it. I really thought the last time he came back it would work but it only took a few weeks until it fell apart again. I haven't heard from him in a week. Last night he showed up at his mother's house. I am just not emotionally ready to confront him. I just am not strong enough not to fall apart trying to talk to him. I have thought about this all day and it just brings me to tears. The person he is without Alcohol or drugs is so beautiful I wish he could see that. I really appreciate this it is so nice to be able to get it out. Any advice would be more than welcome.

Old 05-19-2003, 03:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi, Patty,

I am sorry you are hurting so. It is very painful when someone you love dearly is bent on self-destruction ...and it affects all of us.

If you are able to get to an al-anon or nar-anon meeting, they are lifesavers for those of us who are going crazy from the fallout.
A true source of strength, perspective, support...and even laughter.

You might check out the stickies a/k/a power posts at the tops of the al-anon and nar-anon boards here.

And I am sure someone wiser will be along soon....with words to share....

hugs,
live
Old 05-19-2003, 03:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
I used to work here ;)

Hi PattyJo and welcome