Hello from a newbie

Old 03-02-2007, 02:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello from a newbie

I'm just introducing myself at the suggestion of the moderator.

Unlike many of you here I am not married to an A. Instead my father was the A. He died three months ago from a detox induced heart attack (he had just had a stress test weeks earlier and was doing pretty good) at home at the age of 62. He did not really get bad with the alcohol until after I graduated from high ten years ago and moved out of the house. So, I never really experienced a lot of the things you all are going through. He and my mom were still together and lived in FL. She could never bring herself to leave him because when he was sober he was the same wonderful man she had married. Every time they were planning on coming to visit me he would get sober because otherwise my mom would not have let him come visit. So I never saw first hand all of the detox symptoms. I just heard about them from my mom and I heard about other stories sometimes. Him hiding bottles all over the house and her finding them and throwing them away. And then when he would find out he would go into a rage. Him leaving the house for days without telling her where he was. Luckily he never killed anyone on the road. However he did have one DUI. He entered rehab three times and would get sober and vow to never touch a drink again. He joined AA and had a sponser. Of course none of this worked. My mom said that the reason the drinking started and kept going on was because he was so very haunted by how he was a sniper in Vietnam. He would tell her very little. I never heard any of the stories.