SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Alcoholics (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/)
-   -   Is he an alcoholic? Help! (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-alcoholics/11724-he-alcoholic-help.html)

Charlotte13 04-22-2003 03:40 PM

Is he an alcoholic? Help!

Hi everybody!
This is my very first time here, but I have a question, and maybe you guys can help me with it...

My husband drinks every day, basically since I met him. I guess I thought he would drink less when we get married, or maybe I didn't think of this issue at all. I don't know.
Well, in the beginning of our marriage he had about 3-4 beers a night. I tried talking to him about it, and argued with him a lot. The problem is, that he thinks drinking beer every night doesn't make you an alcoholic. For him you only have a drinking problem when you get drunk everytime.

After a couple of months I called AA and talked with a Lady about him. She said, as long as he doesn't see his addiction, there's basically nothing I can do.
Hoping he would realize himself how much he consumes, I didn't say anything for the next months. The result: the 3-4 beers per night turned into 5-6.
I talked to him and we made a kind of deal, that he would only drink on weekends. (I know that he shouldn't be drinking AT ALL, but I know that I can't expect him to go out with his friends and stay with a soda...)

Well, our deal worked for 2-3 weeks, until I caught him drinking Kool-Aid with Vodka in it.

Nobody expect for me knows that he's drinking every night, and friends who I talked to about this issue, would have never thought he does.
He never drinks and drives, or consumes alcohol before he goes to work.
At work he is one of the best. But every evening he drinks...

All this spread about 1.5 years.