Boyfriend on the Road to Recovery

Old 12-13-2006, 06:21 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Red face Boyfriend on the Road to Recovery

Hello all, I am a newbie here- Just looking for some advice...

My boyfriend has been sober for the last 14 days, he's is currently in an intervention center- he only has 2 days left in there. But while he's been away he has made some amazing self revelations. He has informed me that he realizes that he is an alcoholic, and he has chosen to stay on the path to recovery. He realizes what he has put me and his family through in the last month. And he is bound and determined to turn his life around, and start living again.

My questions is - Does anyone have any advice as to how to hold his hand through this once he returns home? Which is in 2 days. I am new to helping an alcoholic in recovery and am very nervous about how things will be when he gets home.
HELP
Old 12-13-2006, 06:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hi CPE,

Welcome to SoberRecovery. Grab a cup of coffee and start reading! There are many "stickies" at the top of the page that have some terrific information.

The first thing many of us learn is the 3 C's - you didn't cause it, you can't control it and you can't cure it. What you CAN do is to concentrate on yourself, learn about setting and maintaining boundaries, and taking good care of yourself.

Your ABF (alcoholic boy friend)'s recovery is his business. Hopefully he'll start attending AA meetings when he gets out of the intervention center, and hopefully he'll continue his dedication to his sobriety.

Keep coming back. Many of us have been where you are and we understand.

Hugs

Cat
Old 12-13-2006, 06:43 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank so much for your response,