Legal separation while still living together

Old 11-29-2006, 05:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Legal separation while still living together

Hi,

Have any of you had to co-habitate with your AH for economic reasons after filing a separation? Is it possible to maintain focus and sanity under those circumstances? While the agreement would give me financial protection and get the money going toward the bills and kids instead of to bars, I am concerned that living together would prevent AH from facing the true consequences of his drinking, as he would still benefit from the cooking, cleaning, childcare and so on that I naturally provide.

Thank you so much for your wisdom.
Old 11-29-2006, 05:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Red face

Of course I am not an expert, but my first gut reaction to your question is "yes it would enable him" "yes it would slow down his recovery" but sometimes we need to think of what is best for ourselves and our children before worrying about what is best for him. If you need to wait a bit before moving out or having him move out for finacial or practical reasons, those needs come first. If you need to wait because you are avoiding the 'move' focus on strengthening yourself and do it when you are ready...you'll know when the time is right. For me, I try to keep my mind focused on "Why" I'm choosing to do what I'm doing more than the actual choice. Easier said than done....of course. Sometime we need to step back before we can move forward, but if waiting awhile would benefit you and the kids, that need is more important than 'his' need at the moment. I don't even know if that came out clear. Just my first gut reaction to your question, take it for what is worth.
Old 11-29-2006, 05:59 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Always hopeful...

How long would you try to do this? It is extremely hard, and what will YOU be gaining? There must be another way....but it is very difficult financially to physically separate.