what should i do?

Old 11-18-2006, 01:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry what should i do?

This is my first time posting though I read the boards at least once a day. I really need some help. Been married 24 years. He has had a drinking problem since I have known him. In the last 9 months though the disease has progressed to the point he is out of control. He went into rehab for 30 days, got out, started drinking again right away. Went back for another 30 day stint and was released last Sunday to go to a halfway house. He came home to get his car and went back. Called me to tell me he arrived safely (it's about 3 hours away). I didn't hear from him all week. He usually calls to check in at least once or twice a week. Got a bad feeling and checked our bank accounts and saw he had withdrawn 200 dollars on monday and 350 on wed. I immediatly closed both of our accounts and put them in just my name. Now, my question is, my daughter and his brother want me to file a missing person report. He has had two suicide attemps in the past so they are worried. I feel like I don't even know if he is in this state anymore and if they do find him, i don't want anything to do with him.The only reason I would like to know where he is, is so I can file for divorce and get him out of my life. Any insight would really be welcomed.
Old 11-18-2006, 01:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

welcome ihavehadit, glad you're here!

Have you seen a lawyer yet? That was my first step when I reached the conclusion I just wanted to get on with my life, too. Most will see you the 1st hour for free. Will give you guidance to first steps, etc.

I was with AH for 18 years, and it was the same. Always a drinking problem, but rapid decline in the last two years we were together.

What helped me was Al-Anon, therapy, open AA meetings and SR. Keep posting - there are great people here with wonderful experience, strength and hope.
Old 11-18-2006, 02:04 PM
  # 3 (permalink)