I Have A Question???

Old 03-20-2003, 06:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Have A Question???

My A is a functioning alcoholic. He goes to work everyday(although most days I can't believe he can do it ). He's told me in one of our rare deep conversations that he wakes up with terrible hangovers!
I have read that a functioning alcoholic can be one of the worst to deal with because they feel that as long as they're working they don't need to get help.
Here's my question: How long can they go on like this? Will they always be able to function? I have read conflicting views on this.Maybe its up to the individual'I DON"T KNOW..?
Any insight that I can get on this will be greatly appreciated.

THANKS,Karen
Old 03-20-2003, 06:37 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have no medical background, but from what I have witnessed the desease does progress. I am sure that it varies from person to person, but after years of drinking the body starts breaking down. What I witnessed was someone that I thought had totally ruined their mind. He appeared to be unable to complete a thought process, but after he stopped drinking, his mind returned to "normal". It is my understanding though that if he were to drink again that his body would pick up where it left off.

Now I am watching my Father who never missed work, but now is retired. He used to be a "good cover" but now just a couple of drinks sends him over the edge. His mind is confused and is difficult for him to carry on a conversation. However, he does not drink when he comes to my house and he appears to be the dear old Dad that I grew up with.

I would imagine that how long someone could funtion like that depends on how much they drink and how their body reacts to the alcohol.

Maybe someone elso can provide better insight, but this has been my experience.
Old 03-20-2003, 07:22 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Howdy Phab!
How long can they go on like this?