Struggling today (long)

Old 10-27-2006, 12:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Struggling today (long)

Hello, everyone. I've been clean and sober for 7 years. Made the huge mistake of becoming involved with someone in early recovery (a chronic relapser) a year ago, and now I've been to two Al-Anon meetings. I find myself feeling at peace with the situation sometimes, and other times very sad and angry and hurt.

I met this man in a treatment center where a sponsee of mine was. He got out of treatment, relapsed and had his extended revision revoked. I initially saw him at the jail at his request to give him my thoughts on his legal situation (I'm an attorney) and also for some AA words of wisdom. Fast forward to six months when we have genuinely fallen in love (I believe). We planned to live together (against my better judgment) when he was released until I told him if he drank he would have to move out. He was irate, said he didn't think he could meet my expectations and started seeing an ex-girlfriend after he was released to a halfway house. He continued to call me even after I asked him to leave me alone.