Stuck and so confused

Old 10-23-2006, 09:59 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Stuck and so confused

So, I am a newbie here, although I've done some browsing of the forums off and on for about a year. I've attended Al-Anon because of the intense hurt and anger I feel over my father's alcoholism, but I'm dealing with a different problem right now.

I have been with my boyfriend for over 3 years now, we've been in a long distance relationship and starting in August I came to live with him in Italy for a year of studying abroad/being with each other. I have confronted him about his over drinking in the past and everytime i even mention it he gets super angry and starts accusing me of being an ungrateful, unloving girlfriend who just complains and he usually ends up giving me the silent treatment (he is 36 years old and it seems very immature and hurtful). Now, I know I'm nowhere near perfect but I know I don't deserve to be treated the way he has been treating me.

We are now on a three week trip in portugal and just got here yesterday after 3 days of being in the car together which was absolute torture. We fought the entire time and he spent all of the yesterday drinking beer in the car, verbally abusing me and eventually got sick once we reached our hotel. Because of my father's alcoholism and the fact that he knows how much my father's illness has hurt me I feel especially angry that he continues to drink beer with no sense of moderation. So everytime he has beer I end up feeling angry, even if it is only his first one of the day I have this deep hurt and resentment towards him which comes out in my actions and then he is able to use that against me to make me the bad guy.