At a crossroad

Old 08-25-2006, 03:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

At a crossroad

Hi everyone, this is my first time here. I've talked to family, friends, counselors and "experts" but I haven't spoken to anyone who really knows what I'm going. I haven't spoken to anyone who is in the same situation that I am in. And I guess that's why I'm here. Most importantly I'm looking for the "what to do answers", which seems, no one else really wants to provide.

Today is a difficult day. My SO just contacted me after returning from a 3 day binge. He came back home from rehad last week. Early I might add because the doctor there said "things just weren't working out." My SO on the other hand apologized sincerely for the first time in 5 years. Being away made him realize what he has put myself and our 2 year old daughter through. He proposed to me on Saturday. A wonderful dinner, a beautiful ring and a promise of new happiness.

Little did I know days later we would be back where we had been before. I feel like a fool. I'm kicking myself for falling for the promise of change, a new beginning, that maybe this time it was a change that would be forever.

Days ago I left the house with my daughter in tow and a suitcase full of our clothing. We are at my parents - a place that I have run to befoe. But this time its different, I don't want to go back. I just don't know how to end it. Or if I should end it. I just know this is destroying my daughter and I, and potentially our future. But how can I abandon him? How could I live with myself if something happened to him?

Can anyone out there tell me about that moment when enough was just enough and how did you get through it?
Old 08-25-2006, 04:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Occasional poor taste poster

Welcome to SR doormat. You have found a place with plenty of people in the same situation you can talk to.
Originally Posted by Doormat
Can anyone out there tell me about that moment when enough was just enough and how did you get through it?