Blogs

Running, cycling or triathlon in your recovery?

Old 10-10-2017, 07:49 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Running, cycling or triathlon in your recovery?

I was just wondering if anybody feels that running, cycling or triathlon has played a role in their recovery? I am really curious based upon my own experience in this area and as I am now doing a study on the topic. Thanks in advance for sharing your story.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Juhan For This Useful Post:
ChloeRose63 (10-20-2017), SoberCAH (10-10-2017)
Old 10-10-2017, 08:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I have been running for ~ 35 years now.

I did it when i was drinking and i have done it ever since in sobriety.

I don't run races, but a lot of people get a good bit of gratification from participating in them.

I'm just not a competitive person, and running with a herd of other runners kind of destroys the spirituality/zen i get from running alone.
Old 10-10-2017, 02:35 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hi Juhan, interesting topic.

For me running has played a huge role in my recovery periods, it's my stress buster, my drepession eraser , my endorphin creator etc. I also get a sense of accomplishment and the self discipline it takes me to get up an hour or two early and hit the trails / pavement i think translates to other areas of my life.

I used to compete and will do so again I am sure, it's a great rush.
Old 10-10-2017, 02:58 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

It has in the past when I got sober. Running is great exercise for my body and mind. To be honest, the last couple of years Iíve started to ditch the headphones more often than not when I run. Thereís nothing better than when my mind is completely still out on a jog. Iím not saying that happens all the time, but i feel so content when it does. Damn, I really want to go for a run but I promised myself I wouldnít until my injury healed. Thanks for the thread. Many happy thoughts😀
The Following User Says Thank You to Stronger2017 For This Useful Post: