Blogs

Fasting.. anyone doing/done this?

Old 01-29-2013, 05:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fasting.. anyone doing/done this?

Hi, am looking to get healthy and improve my diet now I am on the right path (alcohol free)
My brother recommended fasting 2 days a week consuming only 500/600cals on these days and a regular healthy diet for the rest of the week.
Has anyone tried this or similar, did it work for you?
Thankyou
Old 01-29-2013, 07:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer

What are you getting those calories from on the days you are fasting? What are you hoping to gain from fasting? What is you brother thinking this would accomplish?

I have some experience with fasting, but nothing like two days a week. IMHO, it is good to have other things in your diet really dialed in before you would start fasting regularly.

Also, from your post I gather you my be new to being alcohol free? If so, I really think this MAY be too much to take on all at once. Consider letting your body adjust, giving it what it wants for a while till you get more comfortable with things.

Good luck and keep us posted.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to Ghostly For This Useful Post:
LDT (01-29-2013), topspin (01-29-2013), Windancer (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 07:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
LDT

Hi Kizzy40,

All my attempts at fasting resulted in massive headaches. During the Lenten season I've tried to do this several times, and for me it just doesn't work. I've only been able to do a modified fast at best.

I agree with Ghostly..... if you are early in sobriety, fasting may not be the most advisable thing. When I was newly sober, I just concentrated on feeding my body correctly, since I had abused it for so long.
The Following User Says Thank You to LDT For This Useful Post:
topspin (01-29-2013)
Old 01-29-2013, 10:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Location: "I'm not lost for I know where I am. But however, where I am may be lost ..."