Lessons my alcoholic sister taught me

Old 11-07-2016, 07:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Lessons my alcoholic sister taught me

Hello, I have posted here on a few occasions about my alcoholic younger sister. She is now 41 and I'm 44. My sister is much worse, actively drinking all of the time. She still goes to my parents to "detox". My parents have learned to detach a bit and not check up on her constantly. I do think my father is still checking. He has alcohol abuse issues and I don't think he will fully detach and leave her to figure it out on her own and there's nothing I can do about that.

I was quite naive in the beginning but I've learned a few things. I'm still learning.

1. I have stopped talking with my sister when she's drunk. She doesn't remember the conversation and I am left with stress.

2. I am not her counselor. I cannot heal her or help her reach an epiphany.

3. Arguing and trying to uncover lies is pointless. Alcoholics lie and that's okay.

4. Focusing on my peace, my daily enjoyment of life, my husband, kids, friends, hobbies and activities has been wonderful. I no longer discuss my sister's alcoholism or daily dramas with my parents, husband, or coworkers and life is more peaceful. Sometimes I will catch myself going days and weeks with not worrying or talking about my sister. I still talk here and there but it is not the main focus of my life.

5. I work to focus on myself and try to mind my own business. I am better at not reacting and accepting things as they are. I think there will always be this codependent side of me that I need to deal with. I've been doing a lot of yoga. It has helped me a great deal. I am more calm. I am better at accepting life as it is.