back to the sidelines

Old 02-12-2015, 12:16 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

back to the sidelines

i am really new to this, however i realize how good at lying to me my daughter is and that makes me realize i am not that new to all of this, i was just not totally dealing with it.

After coming back the night i returned from a silent retreat to stay with me, say she needed rehab, struggle it out in my house, bring the cat even, now my daughter is only answering texts about recipes. i don't think she is working, she has had such a good work track record and was starting to make progress. she has not gone to any meetings, stopped responding when i asked her about finding a counselor, she has simply gone silent and so since she is a grownup and i have no evidence that there is anything life threatening i guess i just sit here.

i am kinda freaking out in the middle of the night about this. i have a declining income due to kids growing up and child support going away, however they have all had rude awakenings when they figure out i don't have the means to help them that i used to. i am concerned that she is simply out of touch or expecting support i really don't have the means for, and i just need to sleep
Old 02-12-2015, 04:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Good morning, equanamama! I hope you were able to get some sleep last night.

I really hate the middle-of-the-night freak outs with the wondering and worrying. As you say, your daughter is a grown-up. As much as I may hate my stepson's choices, the cold hard fact is that he is in his mid-30's and has to figure this out on his own.

I hope your daughter finds a better path and soon! I hope the same for my stepson and all our family members.
Old 02-15-2015, 03:53 PM
  # 3 (permalink)