A 20 something that just can't get social media craze - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Go Back   SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Social Groups > Café Central
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-18-2016, 10:03 PM   #1 (permalink)

A 20 something that just can't get social media craze

I grew up when the big shift from a simple beeper and hanging out intimately transformed into Xanga to myspace to Facebook to instagram and snapchat. I was an avid myspace and Facebook user in HS/college. But I think ultimately, it has been the source of SO MANY problems. As I graduated college, I deactivated my Facebook. I got a lot done but I must admit I have so isolated from a large chunk of people. Is this common? Is it possible to have a busy social life without being on these social media sites? I have been off Facebook for a good 3 years but immediately upon my return I am returning to vain childish behavior, seeing my ex's profile, old drinking buddies, and there is a lot of comparison occurring too " oh this person is already married?" I guess that comes with the territory and some people can be on these social media sites without getting into this kind of thinking but not me.

My overall question and concern is...I generally don't like big crowds. I like my intimate friendships and circles. However, it seems as though I am missing out on social media as most people my age (almost everyone I know is on these sites) Does once again deleting my site lower my chances of meeting a potential partner? Is there anyone that can relate to this love/hate relationship with social media?
skywalker91 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to skywalker91 For This Useful Post:
brynn (04-19-2016)
Old 04-19-2016, 12:56 PM   #2 (permalink)

50 views & zero responses SMH SMH :p Anyway I deleted my Facebook and feel so much better=]