Hiyer - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information
Go Back   SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Special-Interest Groups > Bikers in Recovery
Register Blogs FAQ Members List Calendar Arcade Mark Forums Read

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-23-2017, 11:29 AM   #1 (permalink)

Hiyer

I didn't realise there were bikers here, I have been riding for maybe 35 years - bikes were my whole life at one time....
MachinistGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to MachinistGuy For This Useful Post:
firebolt (06-23-2017), toad (06-28-2017)
Old 06-23-2017, 11:51 AM   #2 (permalink)

quite a few here, MG. theres also some pretty awesome sober biker clubs out there.
i used to rid e aloooong time ago , but chose drinking over riding.
a couple years into recovery, a friend had his and his wifes bikes stored in my garage for the winter. he came over one saturday in the spring to pick his bike up, run it home, and change all the fluids. said,"why dont ya get on my wifes bike( a mint 96 virago 750) and ride it back to my pace. we can get the fluids changed and go for a ride."
him sayin that scared the crap out of me- i hadnt been on a bike in 14 years and thought it might bring back the thoughts of drinking, so i weaseled my way out if it.
he pulls into my drive sunday morning. i walk out.
and here comes a helmet flyin my way.
"i aint leavin til you get on that bike and ride."
i still was afraid of that thought comin up, but did it anyways. rode around the block 1st( where i lived 'around the block" was about a 6 mile ride).
pulled in, then we hit the road.
about 15 minutes in- holy crap!!!!
i couldnt remember ever having that feeling on a bike!
he kept the bikes parked in my garage and said,"ride em any time." i just couldnt do that!
then he came over about a week later. he was a wee bit upset that the milage on both bikes was the same.