SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Benzo (benzodiazepines) Addiction (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/benzo-benzodiazepines-addiction/)
-   -   Husband Relapsed (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/benzo-benzodiazepines-addiction/433856-husband-relapsed.html)

WildHorses13 11-07-2018 08:14 PM

Husband Relapsed

Hi I am new to this... I'm just seeking any kind of advice. When I started dating my now husband I was 18 and he was 22. I liked to party and use drugs and alcohol, I liked to smoke weed and occasionally pop painkillers and drink. I never got to a point where I couldn't put something down if I wanted/needed to. My now husband enjoyed the same things but I thought it was a similar situation and I didn't realize at the time he was already a full blown addict. Mainly addicted to xanax. He was seeing a doctor who prescribed him 120 footballs a month and that lasted him maybe 2 weeks and the rest of the time he was filling the void with xanax bars he was able to illegally buy. I had never taken xanax before we dated, I took it some but I never really liked it like he did. A year before we started seeing each other he was arrested for possession of xanax (before he got the prescription) and his court date was finally coming up a year after we started dating. He entered drug court. This is when I finally started seeing how bad his addiction was, he could not get clean for court and obviously ended up in a court mandated detox center. He left, was on the run and then entered into a 3 month rehab facility. He still had a warrant however and they weren't letting that slide so they arrested him about a month into rehab. He was in jail 3 months until I got him into a different out of town rehab and I moved out there to be with him and support him. At this point I knew I was in the relationship for the long haul and not being with h