Notices

back again and so much worse

Old 08-03-2006, 10:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

back again and so much worse

well Im back again after weeks and weeks of being sober and the thinking Im fine and drinking again. I have a beautiful wife and my baby boy just had his 1st birthday... I cant take it anymore, I have such a problem its not even funny.. I checked myself into rehab in my small town but my town sucks so much that they dont pay the therapist crap and the two Ive been to have quit.. Im a smart guy I used to work as a social services person so when I talked to the last therapist she even told me that AA in this town is a joke, its just a way for the town to make money and the only people that go are cause they have to due to arrest or a way to get out of work release.. the nearest AA from here is like 50 miles away and I cant drive that with drinking all the time... Im so screwed I just cant take it anymore and dont know what to do... thanks for letting me blow off...
Old 08-03-2006, 11:58 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would check out the meetings anyway. It's doubtful you're the only guy in town who wants to be sober.

I helped run a meeting at a hospital for people who were sent by the courts in my first year of sobriety, and actually it helped. I'm not a Big Book thumper, but reading any kind of literature about how not to drink, especially in a group setting, helps a lot. Getting around to working the steps helps too. And there are always people here and other on-line groups to fall back on.

AA started with Bill Wilson being away on business, thinking about going into a bar, and finding another drunk who wanted to stay sober instead.
Old 08-03-2006, 12:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)