Notices

Is this normal?

Old 06-27-2006, 02:15 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is this normal?

Hello. I am new to all of this so I am a little uncertain what is correct. My hubby went into an in patient treatment program for addiction to pain pills and fentynol. He left the program early and has since come home and gotten on Methadone. He was detoxed in the treatment program and had been without any type of narcotic for 15 days. Yet, the first thing he did when he came home is to get on Methadone. Is this normal? He says it is but I am not certain. If anyone has any experience on this, I would appreciate any help. I want to help him through this but need to know if this is something that he should be doing. Thanks!!!
Old 06-27-2006, 09:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Blondie,

I just saw your post and the fact that nobody responded to it. I actually have no experience with methadone but maybe if you post this same question over on the Narcotics/Substance Abuse forum, someone with the answer to your questions will be along.

Dont give up. Its slow around here right now, but there should be some help soon.

Good luck!
Old 06-28-2006, 04:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
NOT EVEN 1 CLUB!!

Hi ((blondie)) Welcome to SR.
I'm an alcoholic, so I don't have much experience on RX drug abuse. Sounds like he may have just switched his drug of choice?
I would suggest checking out Nar-anon here. Lot's of family memebers there that will understand what you are going through and help you learn to take care of yourself.
And as Miss C suggested, post this in the substance abuse forum. They should be able to answer your questions.

Glad your here.
Old 06-28-2006, 05:04 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
X IV

Hi Blondie,
Welcome to Sober Recovery. In my experience there is no such thing as "normal". I was taught that normal is a setting on a dryer.
Each addict has to decide, hopefully, with a Dr's help what course of treatment is best for them.