Notices

Is there another way besides cold turkey?

Old 06-17-2006, 07:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Is there another way besides cold turkey?

I have been drinking everynight for about 2 years now... I am ashamed to say that I started drinking during the day and before going to class recently when I went back for my masters degree and began feeling a lot of stress. I now am working for the summer and I need to stop drinking, but I can't handle the withdraw symptoms like shaking (in front of co-workers), lack of concentration, sleepless nights, etc. because of this intense job.

Is there a method to cut down and minimize or elimnate withdraw? I understand that this will require great willpower, but I hit my low when I showed up to work buzzed after I came home from lunch and drank. I think my co-worker noticed and I am nervous I am going to be fired and completely shamed.

Thank you.
Old 06-17-2006, 08:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi. Katie here. I keep attempting to give people advice, but I have only been not drinking for 4 days, but I relate to what you are going through 110%. I graduated 2 years ago, (drank through college) and started drinking nightly after I graduated. I got a very high-paying job with the federal gov't and went to work THE NEXT MORNING still buzzed and reeking of alcohol. I would shake uncontrollably, and be mortified about it. I have been trying to "cut down" now for a year, and the only thing it does is give you excuses upon excuses why it is okay to drink "just this time." Every time, I ended up drinking every night after a few days. After talking to MANY people, they all told me that that wouldn't work. I also realized that when I go to get my masters in the fall, I will not be able to drink like I did. I finally believed them, and still do. So I started this journey a few days ago, and I plan on staying sober. Best of luck to you. Feel free to leave me a message.

Katie
Old 06-17-2006, 08:13 AM
  # 3 (permalink)