So sad..

Old 06-08-2006, 03:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Learning to Live

So sad..

This is my first time here. I am in a double problem. My brother and my husband. Where to start. My brother is living with me, my husband and our 15 year daughter. My brother came to live with us after my mom through him out. He is 36. I took him in trying to help him for a year then last October he was ran over by a truck. He was drunk and fell onto the road. He survied, but is drinking worse than ever. He can barley walk due to his legs. The damage to his body is extensive. Since Jan of this year I have put up with more unbelievable crap with my brother's drinking that I have come to my end. I finally broke down this past weekend and told my mom (who lives in another state) that if she does not come & get her son I was sending on a plane for her to take care of him. I can't live with him but I know he needs help. I had to threaten my mom with her son to do something. He is dying. Drinking Vodka and taking his pain pills all day long. I want to help him but I need to help me and my family now. I have realized I don't have to help him. So this week my mom will be here to put him in a long term treatment center. My brother wants to go but can't do it himself. After a year and 8 months I will be free of him. Now with all this in my life, my husband is an alcoholic also. He has been sober 2 months and drank last week and now today. I am ready to just pack and run away. We talked but I can see it going downhill again. I will not live like that again. The stress, the sadness but most of all I don't want our daughter to deal with it again. He is a good man but just can't deal with stress or issues without turning to the bottle. He was in treatment for 30 days. Just last 2 weeks stopped going to meetings and writting in his journal. He said today he will keep trying. I just don't know. I don't want to deal with this anymore. Life is short and our daughter will be off to college in 3 years. I