Notices

Hello I'm new here

Old 05-31-2006, 03:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello I'm new here

Hello everyone,
I'm obiwan and I'm a thirty three year old man who considers himself an alcoholic.I've binged on and off since I first discovered alcohol at 17.

Since graduating I have been a graphic designer, but my father died three years ago and the year after that I lost my job. I'm not entirely sure if this was connected with my drinking but since he passed away my binge drinking alone has increased steadily. When I finished my design job I was in the process of dating a girl who went on to become what I consider the love of my life. We lasted just over a year before she left me. We used to get in arguments when I was drunk and I thoroughly regret it, not because I physically abused her in any way, but because I could have treated her a lot better and been more ambitious. To put it simply, she deserved a lot better and I didn't give it to her.

Anyways, I got back out there and met other girls and got relatively healthy. I started a temporary position which has now finished so I am claiming benefits. I am in a relationship but I can't see it continuing as I know deep down she isn't the one. When I see her we both tend to drink a lot and often have arguments - although I believe this is mainly due to the fact we aren't very compatible.

Anyways - to get to the point,
I tend to binge drink - I won't drink for two nights (sometimes three) and then I will spend a night on my own and drink two bottles of wine and three cans of beer before passing out. I never used to, but I have recently started craving a drink in the morning, and find it difficult not to if there is some left in the fridge. I think my ambition has decreased a lot in the last three years and I want it back as I used to thoroughly enjoy my job. Now I don't have one but am looking very hard.