Notices

Hello

Old 05-23-2006, 02:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

Hello every-one, this is my first time on the forum so dont really know where to start!. I guess its easiest to say ive come on here because I have a problem with drink. I find the whole concept of trying to give up drinking very daunting and at times impossible. I guess I have had a drink prblem for 10 years now but its probably only the last few months ive admitted it, ive never been able to just have one drink its always been a case of drinking until I drop. Ive tried giving up drinking in the past but its been for the wrong reason (namley not for me). I drink on average 2 bottles of wine a night everynight and ive recently reduced this to one as the times ive stopted altogether and sleepless nites, body aching and massive depression just seems too much to handle in one go, how do other people feel about reducing the drink slowly or am i just kidding myself?

Thanks

Jason
Old 05-23-2006, 03:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Jason, good luck with your recovery - you have come to the right place for a lot of support and helpful ideas.
If you CAN cut down gradually then I recommend that you do it - it may help to ease any withdrawal symptoms - which believe me - are best avoided.
For me - I could not reduce gradually. One drink and I was off until I hit the wall. I had to quit completely and at once. I went cold turkey and I can advise anyone who HAS to do it this way to seek a doctor's advice first. For me I was so intoxicated at the end that I could not even get to the doctor.
Best wishes!
Nick
Old 05-23-2006, 03:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks Nick,

It means alot!