Please welcome Gin

Old 05-08-2006, 10:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Gin

Post I Am An A, Acoa And Coda, Survivor Of Sexual Abuse

Hello everyone,

I ran across this site accidently and feel that I was directed to come here.
I have been sober since 1/1/1980, a constant member of ACOA for 16 yrs, come July 11, a member of CODA for approx 3 or 4 yrs. I am an Asst Manager of "Living In Today" for alcholics.
My parents did not drink, both grandfathers did. My mother started drinking whiskey the last 3 yrs of her life that I know of. If she was drinking before that, she was good at hiding it because I didn't know. She was a rage-a-holic, blowing up like a volcano several times per day. I became very anxiety-ridden, afrraid to speak, afraid not to obey her commands.
I married 4 alcoholics who had her traits, ragers, emotionally unavailable and sad to say, I discovered that 3 of the 4 men I married were child molesters; the last marriage lasted 29 yrs before I walked in on him molesting my 6 yr old grand daughter. I insisted he move out. He did on a Monday and on Tuesday, he was found dead in a Motel room he had rented.
He showed no indication that he would molest a child but he was certainly emotionally unavailable to me just as my previous marriages had been and my parents I never felt like I was loved, accepted for who I am, struggled with fear of abandonment and had horrendous trust issues.
I came into the program at age 57 and in August I will be 73 yrs old. I am grateful for ACOA and the other 12 step groups for if a person follows the 12 steps, gets the family secrets out in the open, it it is possible to heal.
I have never been so busy, so content and filled with peace as I am now.